If you don’t have anything nice to say……….


I found out over the weekend a very nasty email went out about me, my intentions with people, and my work as a photographer.
I have NEVER had someone go out of their way to try and ruin my name, my work, and my beliefs.
Instead of replying in anger or let it consume my thoughts, I decided to let go of it and with that, I put it in the words of Mother Teresa….

People are often unreasonable, illogical and self centered;
Forgive them anyway.

If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives;
Be kind anyway.

If you are successful, you will win some false friends and some true enemies;
Succeed anyway.

If you are honest and frank, people may cheat you;
Be honest and frank anyway.

What you spend years building, someone could destroy overnight;
Build anyway.

If you find serenity and happiness, they may be jealous;
Be happy anyway.

The good you do today, people will often forget tomorrow;
Do good anyway.

Give the world the best you have, and it may never be enough;
Give the world the best you’ve got anyway.

You see, in the final analysis, it is between you and your God;
It was never between you and them anyway.

Words from my friends…..

  • Carole Diamond-Smith I am so sorry Kevin. I don’t understand the ignorance and stupidity of some people. You are a good person and I agree with Dana. Taking the high road is the best way to go. It is not worth your time to try to comprehend why this individual committed such a foolish, disgraceful act. Always wishing u the best Kevin!
    11 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Lee Ham Parker Let it go
  • Cathey Harris And… I have to remember, all the time that people will fail you . God never does.
  • Cathey Harris God forward Kevin, shine your light!
  • Camille McManus I have had to indure the same… it is hard to let it go but the right thing to do. may i say i am proud of you…. not that you need that from me or anyone.
    11 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Sherry Fitchpatrick-Riles Allow me to add…only those that have/have done/are trying to do are hated by those who don’t and never will!
  • Tammy Cantu Keep up the beautiful work!!!!
  • Hummingbird Jewel I do believe we should shut down our reactions and do the opposite … It creates a vortex of sorts light repels darkness. Having said that there was once a Tibetan guru priest a “Lama” he prohibited recordings of his ceremonies. One man would not resp…See More
    11 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 2
  • Kelly Montgomery Haters are gonna hate…
  • Kelly Montgomery Some people just can’t stand the thought of others successes
  • Cathey Harris I would not give them anymore credit or time…and move away from them and this.
  • Sherry Hess Cook You are one of the best photographers I have ever met and one of the nicest people. .so sorry. …
    11 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Candy Chieppo Your work is beautiful, you’re talent inspiring and breathtaking, you are a good person. The rest? Is simply NOISE….
    11 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Jayne Tillman Love the words you shared of mother Teresa. I have my own version…..Karma.
    11 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Ardie Pearce You are a wonderfully beautiful person, inside and out. You exude kindness, are a professional, and extremely talented. You keep doing what your doing, chances are nobody listens to whoever spreading gossip anyway. Chin up my friend.
    11 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Lee Ann Helm Hardin And never allow one mean spirited person or hateful words to steal your joy
    11 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Teresa Carter I’m really sorry that happened to you and I have always loved those quotes. It was a nice reminder today so thank you.
    11 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Erin Hogan Very mature response. Well said.
    11 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Jennifer Cannon Dearest Kevin…I am sorry this happened…but I am more proud of your reaction. Your knowledge of positive response is your greatest worth. Thanks for posting this..I know sometimes it’s even a hard decision to post it…but you did anyway. I am grateful for that because it reminds me of what I need to do in situations like this…thanks for being an example.
  • Janet Quinton Cunningham Hey honey, your work speaks for itself, and it’s beautiful and you know for the bad press someone has tried to pin on you, you get 10x the true, great recommendations daily. You are an awesome person and your response reflects just that as their negative comments reflect who they are.
    11 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 3
  • Vickie Sherill Good for you! You’re the n
    Better person 😊
    11 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 2
  • Lorinda Hern How bizarre…? Don’t sweat it – the people who matter know what they have in you. Usually actions like this are driven by envy. All you can do is pity them, really.
    11 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Colleen M. Griffith Very inspirational post Kevin! Kudos to you for your role modeling here… this is an approach I’m going to make an effort at adopting myself.
    10 hours ago · Edited · Unlike · 1
  • Betty Wilson As someone else said, beautiful words of Mother Theresa. There are always people(assholes) in the world who are jealous or envious of others accomplishments because of their own failures or inability to succeed in anything they try to do, so they just try & tear other people down. So you handsome. & sweet hunk of a man whom I have not met, & friend of my sons, just consider the source.
    10 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Carol Vincent ‘ We are more then Conquers we are Over Comers in this life” STAY STRON .
  • Susan Vought Gullotta So sorry that happened to you. People can be so cruel. Unfortunately things like that happen when people are jealous of others. What they do not realize is that putting other people down or speaking negative about them does not make themselves better or change who they are. Nor does it change what you are. It is a waste of emotion.
  • Suzanne Beams Wise Mother Theresa!
  • Nicole Marie Pyle Humans can be so ugly, yet so beautiful as you so perfectly capture in your photographs. You have “haters”, that means you are pretty much famous;) I for one, can’t wait to see your gallery showing! Just keep on, keepin’on! (Joe Dirt) lol
    10 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 2
  • Nikki Cassady Waits Thanks for this, Kevin Talley-Photography. I needed to have those words today and it has helped tremendously
    10 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • John W. Rectenwald Hang in there Kevin. When people are hating on you, it usually means your doing something right. They hate to see others succeed because they have given up on their own dreams.
    10 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 3
  • Missy Keller That person has dreams of stealing someone’s hopes and dreams. Your a perfect guy and they’re imprefect and want to bring u down. What an idiot. I’m sorry….
    9 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Shannon Culver Such a shame. People work so hard to build up their own life, and with one evil word, it can crumble in an instant. Haters will always hate. That’s what they do. Destruction and wreckage is what they offer. That’s why it’s so important to keep your mind and heart pure from evil intention.
    9 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Teresa Kay Brister Williams People are horrible these days…Mother Teresa said it best…
    8 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Brittany Cassady Weis · 4 mutual friends

    This is exactly what needed to hear right now. Thank you so much for your inspirational post!!
    8 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 2
  • Andrue J Devine Haters gonna hate regardless.
    8 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Robyn Ford my favorite poem… you must be making people nervous….
    7 hours ago · Unlike · 1
  • Katie McLaughlin People never cease to amaze me. I, for one, think you are wonderful. I love my engagement pictures, can’t wait for you to shoot my wedding, and am so happy for your gallery grand opening that you’ve been working so hard for!
    7 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Kim Kelley So sorry to hear that , you are a wonderful photographer as well as person and you will succeed!!
    7 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Vesna VB People, sadly, have nothing better to do. EVER!!! Don’t pay attention to any of it. Let them live with their ignorance, alone, in their own misery. Never let that bring you down or consume your thought, ever.
    7 hours ago · Unlike · 1
  • Tanya Greenberg Kevin, you are the most honest and amazing person, shame on that person to create such commotion! I’ve known you for over 15 years and you are as you stand, honest, loving, true and a friend that I want forever!
    7 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Amy Cassady · Friends with Nikki Cassady Waits

    There is only one Judge snd He is watching us all…
    4 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Emily McClain Siler Karma!  You are amazingly sweet person and a great photographer.
    3 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Cher Beilfuss Mitchell the Evil one is always trying to discourage us from moving forward and doing God’s will. you must be on the right path!
    3 hours ago · Unlike · 1
  • David Moore People can be mean. But, just look at all the support you have from this one post. You gotta be doing something right. Haters gonna hate. Merry Christmas my friend.
    3 hours ago · Unlike · 1
  • Gigi Belmonico You SO rock Kevin. The End. 😊XOXOGigi
    2 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
  • Inga Richter Ultimately, most everyone has nice and pleasant sides as well as some ugly sides. That is what makes us human. Your friends will be the ones that build their opinions on their own experience with you and not some email.
    2 hours ago · Unlike · 1
  • Tony Shuler Rise above
  • Joyce Bristow Amen Kevin…
  • Staci Lyon I haven’t met you, but I’m a huge fan of your photography and I look forward to shooting with you. Don’t let other peoples jealous insecurities stop you from your art.
    43 minutes ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
    • Connie Mallet Spot on Kevin!….I LOVE these words….The best form of “revenge” is to move on and touch many more hearts with your work and passion….and let Karma do it’s thing….. xx
    • Vina Von Bliss when you’re out there doing your gift as a vocation, someone somewhere will get triggered.. and it will have nothing to do wit you/us. keep shining and beaming the joy in your photography, kevin. you inspire many more than the haters. big hugs xo
    • Contessa Morgan Pantoja That was the BEST thing I’ve read in some time, Kevin and an EXCELLENT way to begin my day! Thank-you Don’t let others, especially manifested through their own insecurities and jealousy, bring you down! Everything I’ve ever read from you is motivating, compassionate …. and loving. Keep on!
      6 hours ago · Unlike · 2
    • Jeri Lynn Kenney I am always amazed at the lengths people will go to to defame someone’s name out of jealousy. Luckily it is so common these days that people see through it. I pity the person who is so obsessed with you that they would do that…what a scary stalker type. Be careful.
      5 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 1
    • Aurora Lipnitzky The best response is to ignore them. It shows that they didn’t get to you, their actions are futile.
      4 hours ago · Unlike · 1
    • Aurora Lipnitzky I always listen to people, not what others say about people.
      4 hours ago · Unlike · 1
    • Mitzi Hanna I love Mother Teresa’s writings and I like my friend Kevin
    • Tom OConnor · Friends with Angie Fenton

      @ Kevin- you did the right thing–nothing negative ever hit my site. Think you are still highly respected as a person and for your talents. A good friend of mine, Derek Anderson, Sr- says “Never Allow Someone’s Opinion of You to Become YOUR REALITY “. I have that saved on my phone and practice it daily. God Bless you and ignore those eaten up with jealousy .
    • Kevin Talley-Photography

Image

About Kevin Talley Photography

Louisville Based Photographer. Published in Oxygen Magazine, Women's Health Magazine Former Model with Elite and Wilhelmina in Miami and NEXT & Ford in Los Angeles.

Posted on December 12, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

