Sometimes reality hits you like a train….


I’ve shared in my blogs a lot about self improvement through a positive lifestyle and how to create change.  But there are those times, those circumstances that really hit you hard on many levels.

Recently I have been shooting pictures for my “Urban Dance” series.  It’s using ballerinas dancing in an urban environment.  This past week, I had the pleasure of meeting a 14 year old girl that wanted to watch while I was shooting her ballerina friend (like a sister).  At first I noticed how quiet she was and I made a funny remark about it, trying to get a smile out of her.  The little girl’s mother was with her as well and she had let me know that she has brain cancer.  Right at that moment, I did everything I could to compose myself.  3 Years ago I lost my mom to brain cancer which turned my life upside down for a long time.  Also, I had a life changing experience helping a teenager off an airplane…. something I will NEVER forget. https://kevintalley.wordpress.com/2012/04/23/the-15-minutes-that-totally-changed-my-life/ 

This little girl, at 14 y/o, had also had a stroke.  So many thoughts went through my head on how to nurture or protect this girl from harm.  But what it one to do?  You can only do so much without bringing up the fact that she has cancer….. which I will not do.  I am a big believer in living for life, not living around a disease.  So I had offered to take her to a horse farm where I have shot many pictures in the past.  I have always loved how horses have such a healing energy about them.  So powerful, but loving.

I guess I’m writing this particular blog to “release”  my emotions that I felt that day and still do today.  After all, if we keep things bundle up inside, the stress would have such a difficult impact on your health and emotions.  

Take notice around you.  Who is around you?  We all see with our own eyes….. but what if just for 5 minutes you saw life through this little girl’s eyes.  What would you see?  How would you feel?  What if you couldn’t go back to your own eyes?   How would it impact you?    Time after time, one foot in front of the other, we all walk the same planet and we all breathe the same air.  What difference did you make in this lifetime today?  Ask yourself this everyday and become a better person then you were the day before.

 

Keeping Life in-Focus,

Kevin Talley    The Tall Guy With The Camera.

http://www.KevinTalleyPhoto.com Image

About Kevin Talley Photography

Louisville Based Photographer. Published in Oxygen Magazine, Women's Health Magazine Former Model with Elite and Wilhelmina in Miami and NEXT & Ford in Los Angeles.

Posted on November 23, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What a shock to hear something like that come from the mouth of one so young. And a shock to have gone through what she is going though…i believe you were brought together for a reason. I wish you peace. I wish that little girl strength. ~amy

Leave a Reply

