The best comes to those who wait…… but you have to make it happen !


Turning one’s love and passion into a profession has been an easy transition for me.  Although my ego has tried to tell me different, life itself has reassured me I’m doing the right thing.

About 2 months ago while scrolling through my Instagram, I saw a picture that really caught my eye.  It was a ballerina in a leotard dancing in the middle of a busy street.  As I went through more of these photos, there were many different pictures of random poses of the girls surrounded by urban, street, and other areas besides a dance studio.  The thought to myself….   “I could do this”.  Not the dancing part of course, haha, but to create my own set of images with the same idea in mind.

So I  “put it out there” and asked for help from my Facebook friends if anyone was or knew of someone that had a dance background.  In about 30 minutes, I had over 15 people wanting to be a part of my project !  Like anything new, I had to really think about how to shoot these images in such a way…..  well, I wanted the “WOW” factor.  And I got it !  After working with a couple of girls, met two more that had a dance background, but worked with Ariel Silks.  I thought to myself…. YES, I can make this happen.

I still have 8 more girls I’m going to be working with that have various professional dance backgrounds.  So what is one to do with all of these images?  Have a gallery showing of course !!!     On Friday, Dec 6th I am going to have a gallery reception at The Brown Hotel in Louisville!!!  I couldn’t be any happier as to where things have gone in the last few weeks after coming up with this idea.  This idea I call my “Urban Dance” series.  Even after the gallery showing, I plan to keep this series going and watch it grow to different areas.  Sense people seem to love art in various ways, why not show them that their own hometown has that talent and showcase it ?  !!

If you’re in or around the Louisville area, I hope you can make it to my gallery reception !

Image

Image

Image

I always end my blogs with the phrase “Keeping Life in-Focus”….  do that, but be creative too 😉

Kevin Talley  aka   Tall Guy with the Camera.

http://www.KevinTalleyPhoto.com

Louisville Photographer

About Kevin Talley Photography

Louisville Based Photographer. Published in Oxygen Magazine, Women's Health Magazine Former Model with Elite and Wilhelmina in Miami and NEXT & Ford in Los Angeles.

Posted on November 7, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

