What truly makes you happy isn’t so far away.


A good friend of mine had recently gone through a very difficult time.  And when I say difficult, I mean that in a very straight edge way.  After speaking to them things seem to find their place within this person, but fell short two weeks later.

I often ask myself why people do what they do? Or why they think the thoughts they have?  Or taking certain actions toward themselves or other people, knowing it would only cause pain.  Truth be known, we can never know why one person does the right thing and another the wrong.  Simple math says you do onto one side as you do the other, but let’s put that in a way that you can use this in your life…..

I remember reading a book by Dr Wayne Dyer “Change your thought, Change your life.” This book is one I would highly recommend anyone to read.  But he states the following sentence..   “When you change the way you look at something, what you look at changes.” Now a first glance, this might seem like a riddle.  To me, it is an answer to a lot of was I look at “problems” or difficult situations around me.  Basically it is a way to change your thinking pattern.

The beginning to anything starts with a thought.  Then we take these thoughts and turn them into action that leads us to an end result.  The result will be what ever energy you put into it….  good, bad, or something in between.

So when you think about happiness, we need to think where the source of this is coming from.  If you are looking for someone else to provide you with this emotion, you need to stop right away.  Another person can only provide you with an outlet of relief from pain.  You you continue to use this outlet, it will run dry very quick and you will feel all the bad emotions come falling back on top of you.  Believe me, I have done this and know the feeling of trying to find that one thing that makes me happy.  But if you really want to find it, take a good hard look in the mirror.  That’s where you will find the “starting line”  to this whirlwind, marathon we call happiness.

At 40 years old, I can honestly say I am the happiest I’ve felt in many years.  I found this through many trails and errors like everyone else.  But when I fall, i learned that is was ok that people saw this happen.  But more important, they saw me get back up again, dust myself off, and start running again.  I found my happiness not in another person, or a certain circumstance.  I found it from a deep appreciation of who I am in my own eyes.  I don’t need anyone else’s approval of me,  I love who I am and where my life is headed.  Of course I will hit a few more obstacles, but they sure are getting easier each time I see one.

Keeping Life in Focus,

Kevin Talley   Tall Guy With The Camera.

Image

About Kevin Talley Photography

Louisville Based Photographer. Published in Oxygen Magazine, Women's Health Magazine Former Model with Elite and Wilhelmina in Miami and NEXT & Ford in Los Angeles.

Posted on June 11, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you Kevin. Reading this helps me with my own personal struggle of looking outside of oneself for fulfillment, love and happiness. It starts with “self” first and the rest will follow. Great article. 🙂

Leave a Reply

