Small steps to a bigger “picture”


It started off as a hobby never knowing I would make it my career.  Chasing at what I thought at the time to be “making a living.”  But after really taking a look at my life, Ii felt empty.  Not in a “pity party” way, but in such a way where you feel like you could accomplish so much more.   Me…  I have a creative side to me that I never “let out of the bag.”  Photography for me is such an amazing expression of who I am and what I want to do. So I wonder how many other people go through life never filling that emptiness?

My father had to have is car towed the other day, so I went to go meet the tow driver and wait for it to be picked up.   The driver said he had been doing this work for over 20 years.  As he tied the support chains around the rear tires, he told me that he takes a lot of pride in his work.  Might sound strange, but him saying that struck a harmonious chord with me.  Most people would not want to do anything with a job like that (towing cars), but here is a guy that loves it and doesn’t care what people think.  Its’ about how you look at things.

Are you too busy trying to make a living that you forget to make a life ?  A life of true meaning…   something to leave your legacy with,  a piece of you.

After a lot of personal debate, I decided to approach a restaurant owner about having my horse pictures on display there.  I wanted to host a “showing’… my first.  But if I did this, who would really come out to see my work…  my legacy, a piece of me?  To my surprise, over 60 people showed to my event and I sold several prints.   Now I ask myself…   “What didn’t I do this sooner?”  Well, I know the answer to that one.  Everything, no matter good or bad, happens for a reason and it happens when it is meant to.  We can push for it, we can whine about it, but until God’s timing is just right (not your timing)  then things will happen.  The interesting part of this is that I’m really trying to live by this rule of thumb everyday.  It isn’t easy, but with the help of friends and my own thinking….  I’m doing it.

You can want it really bad,  what ever “it” is, but until you have “it” right on the inside (inside of you), it won’t happen in the order it was meant.  Sometimes you just have to take a breath and realize that you (we) are really not in control.  But when we force things… the bad circumstances tend to follow us.

So if you are in your boat… you don’t have to use your paddles, you just have to let the waves take you to where you are supposed to be, not where you think you should.

Keeping your life in-focus.

Kevin Talley   Tall Guy With The Camera

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

About Kevin Talley Photography

Louisville Based Photographer. Published in Oxygen Magazine, Women's Health Magazine Former Model with Elite and Wilhelmina in Miami and NEXT & Ford in Los Angeles.

Posted on April 20, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

