Don’t just choose your words…. become the words you speak.


What a whirlwind we all walk through daily.  No matter how much we try to avoid them, there are those people who try to suck the very life-force out of you.  If we allow it, these people will become a forefront of your everyday thinking and actions.

Over the last few years I have really try to live by the concept, “We become our surrounding”. Now if you haven’t followed my blogs, I talk about this concept frequently.  I recently found myself in a situation with three people, where I had to disconnect from in every way you can imagine.  Everyday, I would get some form of negative message or just a simple line of text with a dark undertone. Now if I allowed myself, I could have fallen right into their “game” of drama and become part of it.  The thing is, I did “give in” on  more than a few occasions.  This is where I had to cut away from these negative people who only had but one goal…. to bring me down.  You see, when you are living a life where you “feel good”, there are always going to be people that are jealous of what you have.  These three people  that I pulled away away from would do everything in their power (without really trying) to pull me down.  They would say things that were untrue or not accurate just to get a reply from me.  And this is where I slipped.  i would reply trying to “plead my case” (as if I really had one), and try to set things right.  But this really wasn’t my job do that, even though these things were directed at me.  You see, no matter what path you walk down, you will always run into someone waiting to trip you.

So why am I writing this blog?  Because all of us have these types of people in our lives that are pulling at our ankles wanting to get your attention.  The difficult part is NOT to give them that attention, or you will become part of that situation.  “You become your surroundings.”  

So how do we move on?  Remember the old saying “If you don’t have nothing nice to say, then don’t say anything at all.” ?  Words are such a powerful thing but when used properly, they can help you reach your dreams.  Don’t just choose your words….  become the words you speak.  Everyday make a goal to not gossip or don’t give your “two cents” when the opportunity presents itself. Just re-think your thinking on how to reply.  And that may just be not to reply at all.  After all, there is power in silence.

Keep your words golden and your thoughts in focus. in the end, did it really matter anyway?

Kevin Talley  aka  Tall Guy With The Camera.

http://www.kevinTalleyPhoto.com

Image

About Kevin Talley Photography

Louisville Based Photographer. Published in Oxygen Magazine, Women's Health Magazine Former Model with Elite and Wilhelmina in Miami and NEXT & Ford in Los Angeles.

Posted on February 24, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Absolutely. Cleaning out the “closet”. 🙂 You must eliminate the people and things that pull you in that downward spiral. And they so want to share that downward journey with you. Misery loves company and some people just can’t deal with another person being happy or moving in the right direction when they themselves are not. The nice thing is that it is completely up to us to keep them around or not. And by not responding to or feeding into their negativity we take all their power away and put it right where it belongs, back in our own hands.

Leave a Reply

