Recovering and Recreating …..YOU (a personal note)


So I’m writing this blog on a personal, but happy note.  It’s been almost 2 year (next month) that my mother passed away from brain cancer.  It’s emotional impact on my took a huge part out of my life and my health.  After a year and a half of battling depression and nearly 20 pounds of weight gain, I found myself on new ground.  The other day I was “reflecting on my last two years and had written the following on my facebook wall…

“In so many words… I have been humbled many times over. I don’t look at it as a bad thing. I look at it as God has stripped away the “fake” the “bad” and left me with HIS chalk board with lot’s of homework to catch up on. So many experiences, and so many trials. But I’m still standing strong.”

In the past, I had ran my own fitness training business and always staying “in the game” myself.  But here I was just back in February through April of 2012 and I was weighing in at 214 pounds… and that was not a healthy weight for me at all.  Not only was I sluggish, but my motivation was at an all-time low.  And looking down and seeing my first ever “gut”, was a reminder something HAD to be done.

It was totally up to me on what my next step was.  I could either just keep living the way I was or do something about it.   Now I always preach people to accept “change” in their lives no matter the circumstances.  I would say it was my time to “shine. ”

In just 2 1/2 months I went from 213 lbs, down to 198 lbs.  Ready to hear how I did it?  Was it Weight Watchers?  Was it “Body by VI ?”  Did I juice ?  The answer is … none of the above.  Of course I ate healthy, but there was no “fad diets” involved.  I just made a decision to accept my current circumstances and do something about it.  “Mind over matter” if you will.   We all have that “power” within us that will come from our core to help up when we need it.  I call prayer.  There is nothing in my life I could ever accomplish if it wasn’t for my faith.

We all have struggles and problems that will always plague our life, but you do have the power (from the man upstairs) that will pull you out of any pit you may fall in.   In simple words…   “If I can do it… you can too.”

I TRIPLE DOG DARE YOU!!!

Kevin Talley  aka..  The Tall Guy With The Camera

About Kevin Talley Photography

Louisville Based Photographer. Published in Oxygen Magazine, Women's Health Magazine Former Model with Elite and Wilhelmina in Miami and NEXT & Ford in Los Angeles.

Posted on June 18, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Congratulations! it is usually the tragic times that we find out our limits. I am glad you finally found the motivation to carry on!

  2. Thank you Kevin. You are always an inspiration .

  3. Laura Meisner

    I recently started attending Celebrate Recovery at my church and following their eight principles based on the beatitudes. “No. 1 — realizing that I am powerless to control my tendency to do the wrong thing and that my life is unmanageable.” Believe me when you turn things over to God, he does wonders! This program is based on AA’s 12-step program, but you don’t have to have an alcohol or drug addiction to gain benefit. This program works for emotional eaters (me), people pleasers (me, again), condependents, you name it! You’ve got a hang-up, a habit or a hurt and this program WILL help!! Thanks for your post!

  4. Congrats Kevin! This is a *wonderful inspiration* for you to share! A great reminder for everyone of the power within.

  5. I have prayed fervently for God to surround my daughter with faithful, godly, prayerful individuals to help guide her path. As I read this, I know my prayer was once again answered. Blessings to you Kevin

Leave a Reply

