Anger & Change……


I want to start by saying a simple sentence and I want you to remember it every time you are angry about any situation…..

“Anger is the last emotion we feel right before change happens” – Kevin Talley 

Now there is a reason I want you to remember this.  When we go through ANY situation in life where anger arises, this is a signal for you to change it.   Examples could be: leaving a job, ending a relationship, trouble within the family.  YOU have every right to be happy.  BUT, it’s up to you to make that situation into a happy one.  If you decide to keep on holding onto the bitterness, the sadness, the resentment, and yes…  the anger.  Then we are fighting against what God has planned for us.  This is where the whole “free will” comes in.  If you are in a canoe and padding upstream, you might never see the end of the river and you will use lots’ of vital energy trying to get there.  The same thing goes for what you have going on around you at this very moment.

I am no different.  I have to learn to “practice what I preach” all the time.  We all have human emotions that we have to sort through, trying to make sense of things.  But what if you didn’t have to “make sense of things?  What if you just…. let go?  “Let go and let God.”   You may have heard of this term before, but have you used it? 

Anger is a human emotion… period.  This means you need to look around at what needs to be changed.  and lets’ face it, we usually already know what needs to be changed.  It is the security of our current circumstance that gives us comfort even when it is that very comfort that is hurting us.   There is no catch 22 here.  There is just one decision that has to be made.  “Do I go on living with anger and resentment, or do I move on with the flow of life?”

I just went through something in my life where I have known for several months that I needed to change, but I too was reluctant to do so.  So I have been going through the “anger” stage of my situation, realizing NOW I need to change it and turn it around.

“I choose to be happy”         “I choose to follow the path that God wants for me”      “I have made my decision to change my anger into happiness.”

Why are you angry?  What can you do to change it?  Again, the answer is always right in front of us, jumping up and down with signal lights and red flares. But we choose to ignore it.  Its’ totally up to you and how the outcome turns out.   Choose Happiness. !!!

Kevin Talley

aka- Tall Guy With The Camera

Image

 

About Kevin Talley Photography

Louisville Based Photographer. Published in Oxygen Magazine, Women's Health Magazine Former Model with Elite and Wilhelmina in Miami and NEXT & Ford in Los Angeles.

Posted on April 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Thank you Kevin. This totally hit home for me. I finally left my marriage after 17 long years. I feel like I’ve been freed. It took me a long time to do it. But I chose what was right for me and my daughter.
    Wendy

  2. Kevin, Good insight. I agree completely.

    However, I would add that when you decide to “change”, it would be a good idea to channel the energy of the remaining anger into planning a smooth change. Once I made up my mind that I had to remove myself and kids from an emotionally abusive man, I took two months to make arrangements and to plan the “escape”. I didn’t want to find my family sitting in a homeless shelter because it got so bad and we had to leave quick. I knew I could make the change happen without drama.

    Same goes for walking out on a job… it is better to know where you can land than to find yourself unemployed and vulnerable to loneliness and detachment from the working world. The anger could continue to fester in that scenario.

    So, letting go of the anger is a good thing, but be sure to have a chosen direction to go when you do let go.

    Alison

  3. Thank you. I needed to hear that … Could not have come at a more appropriate time 🙂

  4. Great article Kevin. Anger is a powerful feeling that is often overlooked. When we are angry, we are generally angry at ourselves for not acting as we should have. It is a message that we often choose not to hear but when we do and act on it, it can only lead to great successes. I’d like to share with you my article “Make choices or let choices make you”. http://wp.me/p1E5MV-8G

  5. Great read. I love your quote “Anger is the last emotion before change happens” I needed to hear that. I’ve been waiting for others to change around me, but that ain’t happening. I’m going to make a change. Thanks

  6. Anger is definately a great motivator! Some people hold it in and let it fester and some people respond negatively to feelings of anger by becoming destructive.

    Working with it and through it is definately the best way to go. I am reminded of an Eckhart Tolle quote: “Accept – then act. Whatever the present moment contains, accept it AS IF YOU HAD CHOSEN IT. Always work with it, not against it.”
    And….. as you so rightly put it… always CHOOSE HAPPINESS! (no matter what the situation).
    :-)))

  7. Thank you for posting this article!! This has my name written all over it!! Fortunately I have initiated and am in the middle of making that change!! I appreciate your support through this article!!

  8. ditto on all comments. i believe that this “blog” found me. guess i need to get busy.

  9. Kevin, I’ve also heard that the “root of anger is fear”. So if we could take a look inward to tap into what it is that we fear, perhaps it is that necessary change, then we can move forward. Great insights. I’m thankful I bumped into this. Have a best day!

  10. Linda Simnick

    Kevin, Thank you for being you adn sharing. Till this day I often recall sometimes in my past and am always grateful for your words and insight, without which I may not be the person I am today. Choose happiness!!!!! Thank you so much for touching my life in a positive way..

  11. Great Job I wont look at anger the same.

Leave a Reply

