Getting Back your Emotional Energy after hurt.


This is a very strong subject for a lot of people that can hit you at many levels.  For me, it was the loss of my mother to brain cancer 10 months ago.   For nearly 7 months, I was an emotion and physical wreak.  I had severe allergy attacks that were brought on by STRESS and I was having anxiety attacks as well.  Never in my life have I ever felt so out of control of my body or emotions.  

Are you going through grief?  A divorce? (I’ve been there too).  Over-coming an addiction?  There are so many emotions that can take life away from us, and I mean that in the sense of “Emotion Energy.”  Not long after my mom died I had posted a status on my facebook saying “Getting my mojo back.”  Little did I know at that time…. i had a lot more to go through.   Don’t get me wrong… I’m not out of the woods yet, but I can tell you things get easier with time.

What can you do?  First thing is you NEED to take care of your nutrition.  Lot of us will start emotional eating after a hurtful event.  Then there are some who turn to pain killers or alcohol l to numb the pain.  That will NOT fix the problem at hand,  In fact it will only hurt you more.  When we try to stay on a health routine with our diet and exercise I can tell you that your body will respond in a positive manner.  There are no quick fixes, but what you do now (good or bad) will determine the outcome.  

Now I’m not trying to sound like an Eastern philosopher but meditation and prayer is a HUGE healing element.  Again, time is what will fix the long term pain and issues, I’m only talking about the “here and now”.  

Another thing you want to avoid is hiding from the world.  You need friends around you….true friends that care about you.  When I went through (and still going trough) my ordeal, I had so much love from friends and family.  That is a true pain killer.  

Another thing is do not make harsh decisions while you are hurt.  Some people have thought about or even committed suicide while going through turbulent times.  But just like an airplane….. the turbulence will stop once it gets through the storm.

Remember…… you just went through a traumatic event. No one is expecting you to do cart-wheels and try to be the life of the party.  Take as much time as you need to heal.  See a professional.  Take care of yourself and remember….. you are NOT the only person that is going through a difficult period.

 

Kevin Talley

About Kevin Talley Photography

Louisville Based Photographer. Published in Oxygen Magazine, Women's Health Magazine Former Model with Elite and Wilhelmina in Miami and NEXT & Ford in Los Angeles.

Posted on May 29, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yes, good food, easily digested and a pack of “High-B Multi-Vitamins” right after, will work wonders.
    There is something else that I do that works, it may not SOUND right, but believe me…it’s essential.
    It’s the spiritual process of DETACHMENT which I learned to do MANY years ago.
    Step outside of yourself, see the problem what it is and defeat it with either a sense of humor or compassion.
    It’s your choice.
    Thank you, Kevin.

Leave a Reply

